No front page content has been created yet.


The Department of Physiology in the School of Medicine at the University of Texas Health Science Center, San Antonio is renowned for its seminal contributions in many scientific areas including cardiovascular physiology, neurophysiology and the physiological basis of aging. Using sophisticated genetic and molecular tools, our scientists are unraveling the fundamental mechanisms that underlie tissue and cellular physiology; and how these processes are compromised in injury and disease.


Nathan Mitchell Wins Travel Award

Nathan Mitchell (Dr. Daws’ lab), is the recipient of the Department of Physiology’s Graduate Student Travel Award for Spring 2014.  Nathan will use the award to attend the 11th International Society for Serotonin Research Meeting: WCP2014 Satellite in Western Cape, South Africa, where he will participate in a platform session.

Dr. Jason Pugh Seminar

"Presynaptic Receptors and Action-Potential Independent Signaling in the Axon"
Wednesday, March 5, 2014
Medical School Room 444B
Department of Pharmacology Seminar Series

Dr. Rochelle Buffenstein Seminar

“The Naked Mole-Rat, A Long-Lived Animal Model for Biomedical Research”
Tuesday, March 4, 2014
Medical School Room 209L
11 am – 12 pm
Department of Cellular & Structural Biology Seminar Series

Physiology Spotlight

  • Save the Date!

    2nd Annual Department of Physiology Student Symposium

    May 2, 2014

    Keynote Speaker:  Graeme Davis, Ph.D., University of California at San Francisco