Travel Award

Vernon Bishop, Ph.D.The Graduate Student Travel Award is given in honor of Vernon S. Bishop, Ph.D., Chairman of the Department of Physiology 1992 - 2003.

The Department of Physiology/Physiology Graduate Program will grant travel awards to eligible students to present their research at national scientific conferences. Deadline: Applications for the competitive awards will be evaluated in two cycles: Fall semester (due September 1st) and Spring semester (due February 1st). One award (up to $1,000) will be granted each cycle.

To be eligible for a Student Travel Award, you must be: (1) A Physiology Track student, Physiology and Pharmacology (P^2) Discipline Student or a graduate student of any track/discipline working in the lab of a Physiology Primary Faculty member (2) In good academic standing and (3) Presenting author on a scientific abstract at the meeting for which you are requesting an award

To Apply:

Visit the following link to complete the online application and upload your CV - Your C.V. should include a list of publications, awards, memberships in scientific societies and details of service to the school.

Recent Recipients:

Fall  2016

Jorge Azpurua

Xi (Stephen) Chen


Past Recipients:

Spring 2016

Audrey Hager

Tabby Kreko


Fall 2015

Rosa Mino


Spring 2015

Mateen Haroon


Fall 2014

Rebekah Mahoney


Spring 2014

Nathan Mitchell


Fall 2013

Crystal Archer


Spring 2013

Elena Wisely


Fall 2012

Zhongmin Lu

David Medina


Spring 2012

Yael Edrey


Fall 2011

Leo Chang


Spring 2011

Walter Holbein

Wei Zheng


Fall 2010

Yael Edrey

Will Lavery


Spring 2010

Ji Xu


Fall 2009

Leo Chang


Spring 2009

Ji Zhang


Fall 2008

Alpa Khatri

Yun Shi


Spring 2008

Michael Lustgarten

Sandra Chocron


Fall 2007

Chen-Yu Liao


Spring 2007

Nicole Baganz


Fall 2006

Nicole Baganz

David Petrik


Spring 2006

Nina Semenova

Peng Shi